Interim Dean: Richard T. Jermyn, DO

Established in 1976 in Stratford, NJ as the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey School of Osteopathic Medicine (UMDNJ-SOM), the school became part of Rowan University in July 2013 and changed its name to Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine (RowanSOM). A second campus opened in Sewell, NJ in 2022.

The school adopted its current name, Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine, upon entering into partnership with Virtua Health in 2022. Now part of the newly established Virtua Health College of Medicine & Life Sciences of Rowan University, SOM proudly continues its commitment to providing excellence in medical education, research and health care as it trains the health care workforce of the future.


Browse the Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine Collections:

Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine Faculty Scholarship